Unemployment Regulations

The Kansas Edge Means Less Regulations
Kansas has made changes to unemployment insurance regulations to encourage economic growth. Qualified new employers who establish operations after July 1, 2014, are eligible for the new unemployment insurance contribution rate of 2.7 percent. Alternatively, if the employer moves to Kansas from another state, the employer may pay the Kansas rate corresponding with the employer’s earned experience from the previous state instead of the standard 2.7 percent.

The state has reformed workers compensation laws over the past several years to ensure that they are equitable and fair to all parties. 

Kansas is also a right-to-work state, with union membership at around 6.8 percent, well below the national average. Kansas is one of the few states to prohibit compulsory union membership through the constitution rather than state statute.